

Subcommittee on Employee Relations

Meeting Minutes

Friday, October 1, 2021 Remote via Zoom 1:00 PM

Members Present

Representative Leon Lillie, Chair Representative Tony Albright Representative Andrew Carlson Representative Marion O'Neill Representative Cheryl Youakim Senator Mark Koran, Vice Chair Senator Michelle Benson Senator Karla Bigham Senator Jason Isaacson Senator Scott Newman

Representative Lillie called the remote meeting of the Subcommittee on Employee Relations to order at 1:01 PM.

A quorum was present.

Senator Bigham moved approval of the minutes from the August 17, 2021 meeting. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Jim Schowalter, Commissioner, MMB, and Kristin Batson, Deputy Commissioner, MMB, presented an overview of the 2020-2021 Minnesota Law Enforcement Contract, the 2022-2023 contract agreements with the American Federation of State, County, and Municipal Employees, Council 5; the American Federation of State, County, and Municipal Employees, Unit 225; the American Federation of State, County, and Municipal Employees, Unit 208 and the Minnesota Association of Professional Employees. Commissioner Schowalter and Deputy Commissioner Batson also provided an overview of the 2022-2023 changes to the State Employee Group Insurance Program (SEGIP).

Senator Isaacson moved SER-1, the resolution approving the 2020-2021 collective bargaining agreement with Minnesota Law Enforcement Association, and the 2022-2023 collective bargaining agreements with the American Federation of State, County, and Municipal Employees, Council 5; the American Federation of State, County, and Municipal Employees, Unit 225; the American Federation of State, County, and Municipal Employees, Unit 208 and the Minnesota Association of Professional Employees.

Commissioner Schowalter, Deputy Commissioner Batson, Paul Christianson, Enterprise Strategy Analyst, MMB, and Jennifer Claseman, Director of Labor Relations, MMB, addressed Subcommittee members questions related to the collective bargaining agreements.

Senator Newman moved to substitute SER-1 with SER-2, the resolution approving the 2020-2021 collective bargaining agreement with the Minnesota Law Enforcement Association.

Sen. Newman requested a roll call vote. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Rep. Albright, Rep. O'Neill, Sen. Benson, Sen. Koran, Sen. Newman Nays: Rep. Lillie, Rep. Carlson, Rep. Youakim, Sen. Bigham, Sen. Isaacson

There being 5 ayes and 5 nays, THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL.

Sen. Isaacson renewed his motion to approve SER-1, the resolution approving the 2020-2021 collective bargaining agreement with Minnesota Law Enforcement Association, and the 2022-2023 collective bargaining agreements with the American Federation of State, County, and Municipal Employees, Council 5; the American Federation of State, County, and Municipal Employees, Unit 225; the American Federation of State, County, and Municipal Employees, Unit 208 and the Minnesota Association of Professional Employees.

Sen. Bigham requested a roll call vote. The results were are follows:

Ayes: Rep. Lillie, Rep. Albright, Rep. Carlson, Rep. O'Neill, Rep. Youakim, Sen. Benson, Sen. Bigham, Sen. Isaacson, Sen. Koran Nays: Sen. Newman

There being 9 ayes and 1 nay, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 2:43 PM.