Subcommittee on Employee Relations October 5, 2017

Meeting Minutes

Members Present

Rep. O'Neill, Chair Sen. Benson, Vice Chair Rep. Drazkowski Sen. Eaton Rep. Hilstrom Rep. Howe Sen. Koran Rep. Lillie Sen. Newman Sen. Simonson

Rep. O'Neill called the meeting of the Subcommittee on Employee Relations to order at 10:13 AM in Room 10 of the State Office Building.

A quorum was present.

Sen. Benson moved approval of the May 8, 2017 meeting minutes. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Edwin Hudson, Deputy Commissioner, Minnesota Management and Budget, presented on changes to the State Employment Group Insurance Plan (SEGIP).

Galen Benshoof, Acting Director, SEGIP, addressed Commission members' questions related to SEGIP.

Edwin Hudson presented an overview of the collective bargaining agreements with the American Federation of State County and Municipal Employees, Council 5 and the Minnesota Association of Professional Employees (MAPE).

The following people provided testimony on the MAPE contract: Chet Jorgensen, President, MAPE Lynn Butcher, Member, MAPE Cindy Ernhardt, Member, MAPE Rep. Lillie moved SER-2, the resolution approving the collective bargaining agreements with American Federation of State County and Municipal Employees, Council 5 and the Minnesota Association of Professional Employees.

Rep. Lillie requested a roll call vote. The results were as follows: Ayes: Rep. Hilstrom, Rep. Lillie, Sen. Eaton, Sen. Simonson Nays: Rep. O'Neill, Rep. Drazkowski, Rep. Howe, Sen. Benson, Sen. Koran, Sen. Newman

There being 4 ayes and 6 nays, THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL.

Sen. Benson moved SER-1, the resolution disapproving the collective bargaining agreements with American Federation of State County and Municipal Employees, Council 5 and the Minnesota Association of Professional Employees.

Rep. Hilstrom requested a roll call vote. The results were as follows: Ayes: Rep. O'Neill, Rep. Drazkowski, Rep. Howe, Sen. Benson, Sen. Koran, Sen. Newman Nays: Rep. Hilstrom, Rep. Lillie, Sen. Eaton, Sen. Simonson

There being 6 ayes and 4 nays, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 12:05 PM.