Subcommittee on Employee Relations Tuesday, February 18, 2014

Meeting Minutes

Members Present

Rep. Lillie, Chair

Sen. Metzen, Vice Chair

Rep. Drazkowski

Rep. Winkler

Sen. Benson

Sen. Eaton

Sen. Saxhaug

Members Excused

Rep. Hilstrom

Rep. Peppin

Sen. Chamberlain

Rep. Lillie called the meeting of the Subcommittee on Employee Relations to order at 11:06 am in Room 5 of the State Office Building. A quorum was present.

Sen. Metzen moved approval of the minutes from the September 20, 2013 meeting. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

Marcy Cordes, Assistant Commissioner for Labor Relations, Minnesota Management and Budget, presented an overview of the State Residential Schools Education Association and the Minnesota Government Engineers Council collective bargaining agreements.

Dianne O'Connor, Deputy Commissioner, Office of Higher Education, presented an overview of the Office of Higher Education Unclassified Personnel Compensation Plan.

Sen. Eaton moved approval of SER-1, the resolution approving the State Residential Schools Education Association collective agreement, the Minnesota Government Engineers Council collective bargaining agreement, and the Office of Higher Education Unclassified Personnel Compensation Plan. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Mary Benner, Board Chair, Minnesota State Retirement System, Don Rambow, Board Chair, Public Employees Retirement Association, and Martha Zins, Board Chair, Teachers Retirement Association, presented an overview of the proposal to approve salary increases for the directors of the Minnesota State Retirement System, the Public Employees Retirement Association, and the Teachers Retirement Association.

James Schowalter, Commissioner, Minnesota Management and Budget, spoke to the concerns of Minnesota Management and Budget with the proposal to approve salary increases for the three pension directors.

Sen. Metzen moved SER-2, the resolution to modify the proposals of the Public Employees Retirement Association, the Minnesota State Retirement System and the Teachers Retirement Association so that the salary for each director is as follows: \$120,002 effective retroactively to January 2, 2013 and \$126,003 effective retroactively to January 1, 2014.

Rep. Drazkowski requested a roll call. There being 5 ayes, 2 nays and 3 absent, <u>THE MOTION</u> <u>PREVAILED.</u>

Aye: Lillie, Winkler, Eaton, Metzen, Saxhaug

Nay: Drazkowski, Benson

Absent: Hilstrom, Peppin, Chamberlain

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 11:59 AM.