## Subcommittee on Employee Relations Tuesday, January 28, 2013 Room 10, State Office Building

Minutes

## Present

Representative Lillie, Chair Senator Metzen, Vice Chair Representative Drazkowski Representative Hilstrom Representative Peppin Representative Winkler Senator Eaton Senator Saxhaug Senator Benson Senator Chamberlain

Representative Lillie called the meeting of the Subcommittee on Employee Relations to order at 4:02 pm in Room 10 of the State Office Building.

A quorum was present.

Representative Winkler nominated Representative Lillie for the position chair. Motion Prevailed.

Senator Eaton nominated Senator Metzen for the position of Vice Chair. Motion Prevailed.

Representative Peppin nominated Representative Drazkowski for the position of Secretary. Motion Prevailed.

Members and staff introduced themselves.

Greg Hubinger reviewed the proposed rules of the Subcommittee on Employee Relations.

Representative Winkler moved adoption of the Subcommittee Rules. Motion Prevailed.

Senator Metzen moved approval minutes from the August 30, 2012 meeting. Motion Prevailed.

Barbara Holmes, Assistant Commissioner for Labor Relations for Minnesota Management and Budget, presented an overview of the American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees, Council 5 collective bargaining agreement, the Minnesota Association of Professional Employees collective bargaining agreement, the Middle Management Association collective bargaining agreement, the State Residential Schools Education Association collective bargaining agreement, and the AFSCME Correctional Officers collective bargaining agreement.

Assistant Commissioner Holmes then provided an overview of the Commissioners Compensation Plan and the Managerial Plan.

Representative Hilstrom moved SER-1, the resolution approving collective bargaining agreements with the American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees, Council 5, the Minnesota Association of Professional Employees, the Middle Management Association, the State Residential Schools Education Association, and the American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees, Correctional Officers, Unit 8.

Representative Drazkowski requested a roll call vote. There being 6 ayes, 3 nays and 1 absent, the motion prevailed.

Voting Aye: Representative Lillie, Representative Hilstrom, Representative Winkler, Senator Eaton, Senator Metzen, Senator Saxhaug Voting Nay: Senator Benson, Senator Chamberlain, Representative Drazkowski Absent: Representative Peppin

Senator Eaton moved SER-2, the resolution approving the Commissioner's Plan and the Managerial Plan. There being 6 ayes, 3 nays and 1 absent, the motion prevailed.

Voting Aye: Representative Lillie, Representative Hilstrom, Representative Winkler, Senator Eaton, Senator Metzen, Senator Saxhaug Voting Nay: Senator Benson, Senator Chamberlain, Representative Drazkowski Absent: Representative Peppin

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 4:54 pm.