Subcommittee on Employee Relations Legislative Coordinating Commission Tuesday, March 27, 2007 9:00 a.m. Room 125, State Capitol

Present:

Excused:

Sen. Don Betzold

Sen. James Metzen

Sen. Gen Olson

Sen. Linda Scheid

Sen. Betsy Wergin

Rep. Debra Hilstrom

Rep. Leon Lillie

Rep. Karla Bigham

Rep. Chris DeLaForest

Rep. Morrie Lanning

Sen. Scheid called the meeting to order at 9:08 a.m. A quorum was present. Members introduced themselves.

Election of Officers

Rep. Hilstrom nominated Sen. Metzen for the position of Chair. There were no other nominations. Rep. Hilstrom moved unanimous ballot. The vote was taken. Sen. Metzen was elected Chair.

Rep. Hilstrom nominated Rep. Bigham for the position of Vice Chair. There were no other nominations. Rep. Hilstrom moved unanimous ballot. The vote was taken. Rep. Bigham was elected Vice Chair.

Sen. Scheid nominated Sen. Wergin for the position of Secretary. There were no other nominations. Sen. Scheid moved unanimous ballot. The vote was taken. Sen. Wergin was elected Secretary.

Adoption of Subcommittee Rules

Greg Hubinger, Director of the Legislative Coordinating Commission, reviewed the subcommittee rules. Rep. Lillie moved approval of the rules. **MOTION APPROVED.**

Approval of the Minutes

Rep. Bigham moved approval of the September 18, 2006, meeting minutes. MOTION APPROVED.

Review/Approve Proposed Salary Increases

Mr. Hubinger stated that the Public Employees Retirement Association (PERA), Minnesota State Retirement System (MSRS) and Teachers Retirement Association (TRA) are proposing increases in the salaries for their directors to the amount of \$102,257. They are currently at \$90,000, so the increase is approximately 2.3% and is the maximum permitted by law. Discussion ensued. Sen. Scheid moved approval of SER-1. Steve Devich, President of the Board of Trustees for PERA, Matthew Hodapp, Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees for MSRS, and Curtis Hutchins, President of the Board of Trustees for TRA stood for questions. Discussion ensued. **MOTION APPROVED.**

Sen. Metzen was excused from the meeting. Rep. Bigham took over as Chair.

Update on State Employee Group Insurance Program

Mr. Hubinger stated that Deputy Commission Paul Larson from the Department of Employee Relations (DOER) was unable to be at the meeting. Sandi Blaeser, Labor Relations Representative from DOER, was available to provide an update on the status of bargaining. Ms. Blaeser apologized for Mr. Larson being unable to attend the meeting and stated that she was not prepared to provide information regarding the State Employee Group Insurance Program (SEGIP). She encouraged the Subcommittee to schedule another meeting to give Mr. Larson an opportunity to provide that information. Ms. Blaeser provided an updated on the collective bargaining process. She stated that bargaining had commenced with the state unions, AFSCME and MAPE, and they are scheduled to do the same with several others in the coming weeks. Ms. Blaeser stated that the intent is to reach a voluntary settlement by July 1, 2007. Ms. Blaeser stood for questions. Discussion ensued.

Rep. Bigham stated that she would confer with Sen. Metzen regarding a possible date and time for the next meeting and staff would contact members via email.

There being no further business, Rep. Bigham adjourned the meeting at 9:46 a.m.
Senator James Metzen, Chair